Tags

, , , ,

Manchester is a great shopping destination.

The Arndale Centre has all the regular high street outlets: Reiss, River Island, Hobbs, LK Bennet, Hollister, Warehouse, …

Or pop across to Exchange Square for Harvey Nicholls and Selfridges.

But my personal new discovery in Manchester are the smaller independent and one-off shops in the quirky Northern Quarter.  I needed more time to explore fully but I want to share my favourites with you.

Top of the list has to be the Barberella-themed Pop Boutique at 34-36 Oldham Street.

Pop is vintage heaven, with a wide range of clothing plus furniture and home accessories.  There’s even a barber (barber-ella, get it?) at the rear of the ground floor.

Just up the road at 22 Oldham Street is a small bookshop, Magma.  The emphasis is on art, design and fashion.  In reality, it’s much more than a bookshop: there are prints, mugs, bags, games.  It’s only a small shop but it is well-laid out, bright and vibrant, with friendly and helpful staff.  I hate talking about Christmas when it’s only mid-October, but I have to admit to starting my Christmas shopping here!

Another favourite find is Thunderegg, right next door,  stocking an eclectic range of clothing and accessories.  It is clearly Japanese-inspired, with rows of Japanese collectibles on display, and products such as Hello Kitty and Tokidoki.  There’s a tempting range of on-trend satchels and striking knits.  And what can I say about the vinyl heads?!

If any readers have other favourites in the area it would be great to hear from you.

